Sailors of the Summer Stars

Image

 

                    Sailors of the Summer Stars

I travel far, he said, I travel far,
I am a sailor of the summer stars,
I bring you treasures in my shining jars,
I am a sailor of the summer stars.

She said, I saw you, mounting from the sea.
I did not know you had come for me.
Once, outside my window, I saw you, flying in the sky.
Your pearly vessel signalled to my eye.

He said: Let’s go now, to the landing place.
All our ships are leaving, voyaging to space.
O, come, let us travel, let us travel far,
and you’ll be a sailor of the summer stars.
We shall leave a message in my shining jars,
gift from the sailors of the summer stars.

Leave a Reply

