The Guardian Angel of New York Harbour

The Guardian Angel of New York Harbour

I never sailed to America,
I never learned of her democracy,
but I’ve seen the guardian angel
of New York harbour,
the Statue of Liberty.
They should have looked to her more.
She would have guided them
safely home to shore,
but now peace flows in on the ocean tides,
and there’ll be no more war, America.

I’ve seen Manhattan on the silver screen,
all the way from the silent movie comedies.
Buster Keaton hanging from the truck
of a railway train,
escaping from his sad calamities.
Thank you for making us smile
with your Hollywood fantasies.

I am a child of the English shore.
Our history has her own aristocracy,
but I know your sky scraper skyline
from the films I’ve seen,
and the songs that comfort me.
Stereo sound panoramas
took me close to you.
I sat beside you in a taxi
before my aeroplane flew,
flew away from America.

The seeds that flow in on the tides, America,
plant them and see them flower.
Follow the light of the Statue of Liberty,
the guardian angel of New York harbour.

Leave a Reply

