The Return of Arthur

                         The Return of Arthur

Sir Bedivere, never so quiet has earth seemed,
as it does now, as I lie by the banks of this mere.
My mind forks with the fight at Badon Hill.
The rebel Mordred cut me down with sword and lance,
but my spirit, he did not kill.
Our banners fell. All my knights lie still.
Say farewell for me to Gwenivere.
The mist lifts from the water, The air is clear.
The barge comes silently, to take me to Avalon,
the Isle of Apples. Soon I will be gone.
Those who study my tale in future times may learn,
though there was a passing, there will be a return.

Leave a Reply

