Silk and Steel

                                         Silk and Steel

I came by myself
and I’ll leave on my own,
my songs are my wealth,
they’re the seeds I have sown.
It’s the way that I have
to tell how I feel,
and I play them on strings
of silk and of steel.

Snow now is flaking
from the white winter sky,
the year’s leavetaking,
time’s come for goodbye,
at least to the green leaf,
but not to the song,
plucked chimes in the frost air
the dark winter long.

Heard Martin Carthy
sing for all he was worth
songs from our history,
from the lands of our birth.
It’s the way that he has
to stir us to feel,
and he played them on strings
of silk and of steel.

Leave a Reply

