Bright Side Of The Sun

                                Bright Side Of The Sun

Your face phantom pale,
you dip your head,
your coat is long and black,
you seem content to be in tune
with the dark side of the moon.

A shadow in a crater
defines your lunar life.
Any moment you could turn,
another way to learn,
a different race to run
to the bright side of the sun.

I do not know how I would entertain you
or what it would gain you if you stay,
so I think it best
that I am not going to meet you anyway.

I do not know how I would explain you
if I could detain you for a day.
I was young when I started looking for you,
but I was always sure you could never be more
than the flicker of a figure in a play.

Rare as smoke from a chimney
in these days of central heating,
such would be our meeting.
I will look for you until my race is run
to the bright side of the sun.

You sit silent in your chair,
in your face and clothes no colour,
like the negative of a photograph.
Do I see your darker self, your sad shadow?
If you took my hand, together could we still run
to the bright side of the sun?

Leave a Reply

