Cloud of Birds

Cloud of Birds

I was inside a cloud of birds,
and they were all singing,
and flapping their wings,
and I was not flying,
but standing on a mound,
and beyond my left ear,
in a screen in the sky,
bells bigger than cathedral bells
were swaying, to and fro,
with no sound of ringing,
and slowly the birds flew and faded,
and I was sat in my chair,
not feeling anything,
just light, quite empty,
and I lifted my mug from the floor,
and took another sip of my coffee,
and listened to the birds,
outside, in the garden,
nest building, territory claiming, singing.

Leave a Reply

