The Indifference of the Wind

The Indifference of the Wind

It seems to me the waves of the sea
will never cease to reach the shore.
It seems to me the waves of the sea
will fall forever more.

No more attached, my windows unlatched,
I stand solidly at the door.
What wind will blow, I care not to know,
I feel cleansed to the core.

Now I go away, I have to say,
I want no part in your play.
I was on your side, but you lured me and lied,
constant in the way you stray.

Under the sky, watch rebels roll by,
wave guns in jeeps and armoured cars,
unlock the machine, see them careen,
sand shifts beneath the stars.

I was a fool to want peace to rule,
pray for the end of war and pain.
Widow weep in your shawl, cry and call,
hood your head from the rain.

It seems to be the wind from the sea
will carry clouds across the sky.
It seems to be the wind from the sea
blows indifferently through what passes by.

Leave a Reply

