Cedric’s Close Encounter

Cedric’s Close Encounter

I was sailing round the heavens
when I saw a blush of light.
It was so I found your planet
and it made it worth the flight.

I left my old grey mother ship
in a crimson solar storm.
The freedom of the galaxy
means I never come to harm.

I landed only yesterday
on this splendid mountain range.
You’re having a close encounter,
if you wonder why I’m strange.

I’ve no idea what’s going on,
I’m as foggy eyed as you.
You’d have to ask the Star Shepherds,
but they never give a clue.

Well, I had best be going soon,
wing away in my spaceship.
I invite you to come with me,
to fly quicker than a quip.

Perhaps you can call me Cedric,
though that’s really not my name.
The great plan is not my business,
I don’t play the cosmic game.

Let us climb the spiral mountain,
my ship gave a warning beep.
I’ll pretend you are a princess,
and I’ve woken you from sleep.

Say your farewells to your planet,
partly looks like a pleasant place,
but you will never be lonely,
I’ve got many friends in space.

Leave a Reply

