Prism

Prism

World wheel away,
let your engines be silent.
Though never free of your play,
from my retreat withdraw
for more than a moment.

Let me study my maps,
decide my alignments.
Down to my essence,
I know my requirements.

My cargo is stored,
my garden I prune,
and on my fret board,
I find a new tune.

I once lay upon a mountain,
held a prism to the sun,
created rays of a rainbow,
it was freedom, it was fun.
I walked through pines to the river,
and I know I can get back there,
not all my reels have spun.

Like a knight who needs no armour,
a pilot who needs no plane,
my quest taken by my spirit,
only I can see my lane.
More than a muse in a mirror,
a woman to be beside me,
the tender tide again.

Leave a Reply

