Roundabout

Roundabout

Meet you at the roundabout,
round about seven,
if you cannot meet me then,
round about eleven.
Round about the roundabout,
I will meet you there.
Have no doubt the roundabout
will lead us to the fair.
Meet you at the roundabout
while we have ground to share.

Meet you at the roundabout,
and if you cannot see me,
go round the roundabout,
until you have wound round
the roundabout enough to have no doubt
you have gone round the roundabout
at least once and if you do not see me,
you will know I have yet
to come to the roundabout,
but I will not forget
to meet you at the roundabout.
So if you get there first,
it is best to wait at one bend
of the roundabout
to send the signal that
you are not in doubt
that I will meet you at the roundabout,
and if I am there before you,
I will wait at the roundabout,
to meet you at the roundabout,
until I see you coming round the roundabout
to meet me at the roundabout.

On second thoughts,
it might be best to meet in the square.
It only has four corners,
whereas the roundabout has none,
being round, and the roundabout
may make you wonder
who has come and who has gone,
but in the square, at one of its four corners,
I will simply see you there,
then together we could take the path
that will lead us to the fair,
but if in doubt,
I could still meet you at the roundabout.
Somehow I will meet you there,
somewhere round about the roundabout,
much better than saying anywhere,
which could lead to never and nowhere.
No, I am now clear of every doubt,
I will meet you somewhere
round about the roundabout.

5 thoughts on “Roundabout”

      1. The lines “On second thoughts… who has come and who has gone” just took my breath away. I’m re-reading this poem again and again and again. I don’t know what you did there, but I’m in awe.

Leave a Reply

