Mountaineer

Mountaineer

I understand the mountaineer,
to climb Everest because it’s there,
on the peak, to gaze through snow goggle glass,
smudged by mist and dew of cloud,
to see all horizons clear,
beyond, to what no one else could ever see,
to be in that icy moment,
truly happy, truly free,
to feel that you can,
enough to say out loud,
whirl the wheel around
to wheel around again,
to watch the world
unfurl its scarlet banners in the dawn,
hear the horns of the paradise temples drone,
to say I have found the sound
that will not sound again,
to say, yes, for this I was born,
in this dawn I was born today,
I whirl the wheel around
to wheel around again,
I have found the sound
that will not sound again,
I whirl the wheel around
to wheel around again.

Leave a Reply

