John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane

John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane

Golden woman of the golden tree,
when I grow up, will you marry me?
I am John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane,
when I grow up, will I see you again?

I am John Barley, John Barley,
John Barleycorn.
I am John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane,
when I grow up, will I see you again?

Golden woman of the golden tree,
now I’ve come back and you’ve married me.
I am John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane,
now I’ve come back, there will be no more pain.

I am John Barley, John Barley,
John Barleycorn.
I am John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane,
now I’ve come back, there will be no more pain.

Golden woman of the golden tree,
wind may blow low over land and sea.
I am John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane,
our child will play in fields of golden grain.

I am John Barley, John Barley,
John Barleycorn.
I am John Barleycorn of Larkhill Lane,
our child will play in fields of golden grain.

O, John Barleycorn,
John Barley, John Barleycorn,
at the end of the road a golden tree,
and the golden woman you waited to marry,
O, John Barleycorn,
John Barley, John Barleycorn.

Leave a Reply

