Cathedral

Cathedral

A ship slips from harbour
with no captain or crew on board.
It seems in dreams,
the heart has no shelter,
the soul cannot be shored.

A church stands with no bell,
its priest wears white but serves no lord.
It seems in dreams
no reason is given,
conclusions are obscured.

Wind wake, spirit stir.
Cathedral builds in the air,
I think of it and I am there.
In the nave, I light a candle,
my mind on your name,
my prayer flickers with the flame.

Stone angel blows his horn
above the balcony,
clear as the organ pipes,
seems to say to me:
We know there are hearts to heal,
there are souls to save.
The sea is deep and wide,
but we watch every wave.

Later, I leave the cathedral.
Behind me, the candle I lit for you,
unmelted, glows in the nave.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cathedral”

Leave a Reply

