Cairn Gorm

Cairn Gorm

Ice drove down from the north,
spread and split the land.
After an age, it thawed.
The freed waters dove into basins,
raced through channels,
wound round massive granite mounds
men came to call mountains.
A falcon hovers in the air,
I remember, for once I was there.
Land lift me now, close to the sky,
to cleanse my spirit, clear my eye.
Cairn Gorm, middle peak,
intrude on my vision,
to let my tongue speak.
Would that I had the memory of a mammoth,
to see it all in a glass,
for it must have been grand.
What are those shaky forms in the mirror?
In one blink they pass.
Elk herds run down to a river.
Out from a gap in the rocks,
a sabre tooth tiger leaps.
No, we will never know,
for under the Siberian snow,
the bones of the mammoth sleeps.
Golden eagle, rightly called king of birds,
fly me over Cairn Gorm,
free of cloud, mist and words.

One thought on “Cairn Gorm”

Leave a Reply

