Hedgehog In My Garden

Hedgehog In My Garden

Hedgehog in my garden,
so slow and sleepy,
allowed me to take five photographs of him.
Hibernation still in memory,
evening bringing another day to a close,
a saucer of water I laid down by his nose
did not interest him,
just wanted to curl up in his brown spiky coat,
and nestle into the blank black
of small omnivorous mammal repose.
I managed to scoop him up on a shovel
with the sweep of a brush,
to lay him down and cover him with twigs for safety,
among the roots of a bush.
That is the second time I have seen him.
Happy to have a hedgehog in my garden.
For such a sight to give me pleasure,
as it would a child, I know my heart will never harden.

2 thoughts on “Hedgehog In My Garden”

Leave a Reply

