Lines For Leonard Cohen

Lines For Leonard Cohen

I listened to Leonard Cohen alone,
not with a party going one,
maybe afterwards,
when everyone had gone.

I always liked his tone,
voice of a real man to me,
the master of rhyme and rhythm,
he cleared his eyes to see.

His faith never certain,
but shaken, under threat,
told the bare tale of his search,
thought he would get there yet.

He sang of the bird on a wire,
Suzanne and the river,
and lifted us up
with his hallelujah.

He removed the skin,
shone light on the bone,
told us what we hold within
is figured out in stone.

Now he has left the stage,
to raise his hat no more,
he followed his angel
to what lay beyond the door.

Hear his song begin,
one that cannot cease,
let rain water fill your tin,
and drink it now in peace.

6 thoughts on “Lines For Leonard Cohen”

    1. Thank you very much for your comment. You are very fortunate to have seen Leonard Cohen in concert. I bought his first album, Songs of Leonard Cohen in 1968, when I was sixteen. Now I have his final album, You Want It Darker, and I am sixty four, so his songs and poems have been part of my life for a long time.

Leave a Reply

