Winter Without, Within

Winter Without, Within

Winter without my walls
made me feel winter within.
So severe the cold, the hollowness
I was alarmed to consider
this desolation sin.
Winter without is natural
but not winter within.
A carol from a choir
stung my eyes, peeled back the skin,
till I felt the thaw begin.
It re-lit my lamp,
cleansed me from winter within.

World must accept winter without,
but not winter within.
Peel back the skin,
let the thaw begin.
Relight the lamp,
to be saved from winter within.

Endure winter without, within.
Do not forget a thing.
You know what comes after.
Spring.

2 thoughts on “Winter Without, Within”

Leave a Reply

